John A. Rogers

 John Rogers

Contact Information

Department of Chemistry
University of Illinois
2015 Frederick Seitz Materials Research Laboratory
104 South Goodwin Avenue
Urbana, IL 61801
Professor of Materials Science & Engineering and Professor of Chemistry
Visit Website


Professor John A. Rogers obtained BA and BS degrees in chemistry and in physics from the University of Texas, Austin, in 1989. From MIT, he received SM degrees in physics and in chemistry in 1992 and the PhD degree in physical chemistry in 1995. From 1995 to 1997, Rogers was a Junior Fellow in the Harvard University Society of Fellows. During this time he also served as a Director for Active Impulse Systems, a company based on his PhD research that he co-founded in 1995 and which was acquired by a large company in 1998. He joined Bell Laboratories as a Member of Technical Staff in the Condensed Matter Physics Research Department in 1997, and served as Director of this department from 2000-2002. He currently holds a primary appointment in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and is affiliated with the Beckman Institute, the Materials Research Laboratory as well as the Departments of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mechanical Science and Engineering and Chemistry.

Research Interests

  • electroactive polymers, plastic electronics, microfluidics, elastomers, soft lithography, photonics

Research Description

Rogers' research includes fundamental and applied aspects of nano and molecular scale fabrication as well as materials and patterning techniques for unusual format electronics and photonic systems. He has published >200 papers, and is co-inventor on >70 patents and patent applications, more than 40 of which are licensed or in active use by large companies (e.g. Lucent Technologies) and startups (e.g. Active Impulse Systems and Semprius).

His research has been recognized with many awards including, most recently the Xerox Distinguished Lecturer Award (2006) and the Dorn Lectureship in Materials Science at Northwestern University (2007), the Daniel Drucker Eminent Faculty Award from the University of Illinois (2007) the Leo Hendrick Baekeland Award, from the American Chemical Society (2007). His teaching has been recognized many times through selection to the UIUC Unofficial List of Teachers Ranked Excellent by Their Students. Rogers was named a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2006, an inaugural Fellow of the Materials Research Society in 2007, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2008, and a Department of Defense National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellow in 2009. He serves, or has recently served, on several Editorial Boards, including those for Applied Physics Letters, Journal of Applied Physics and Nano Letters. He also is Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Nanotechnology, and SPIE Journal of Microlithography, Microfabrication and Microsystems.

Distinctions / Awards

  • Member, U.S. National Academy of Sciences, 2015
  • Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2014)
  • American Ingenuity Award, Smithsonian Magazine (2013)
  • Named a permanent member of the Center for Advanced Study at University of Illinois, the highest form of academic recongition that can be bestowed on a member of the faculty (2013)
  • Named a permanent member of the Center for Advanced Study at University of Illinois, the highest form of academic recongition that can be bestowed on a member of the faculty (2013)
  • Honoris Causa Doctorate from the Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL) (2013)
  • Mid-Career Researcher Award, Materials Research Society (2013)

In The News

  • A new class of small, thin electronic sensors can monitor temperature and pressure within the skull – crucial health parameters after a brain injury or surgery – then melt away when they are no longer needed, eliminating the need for additional surgery to remove the monitors and reducing the risk of infection and hemorrhage.

  • Seven University of Illinois researchers have been named to the Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researchers list for 2015.

  • Four scientists associated with the Department of Chemistry have been honored by their election to the National Academy of Sciences.  They are: Catherine J. Murphy (Peter C.

  • I am very happy to announce that Wilfred van der Donk and John Rogers have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, which was founded in 1780 and is one of the nation’s oldest scientific academies.

  • Professor of Chemistry and Swanlund Professor of Materials Science and Engineering John A. Rogers has led researchers in developing technology which has been getting wide-ranging press attention, including a feature article in The New Yorker called "The Body Electric".