The Suslick-Sessler Lectureship in Materials Chemistry

This lectureship series has been made possible through the generosity of Dr. Jonathan L. Sessler, the Doherty-Welch Chair Professor of Chemistry at the University of Texas at Austin.

Jonathan L. SesslerJonathan L. Sessler was born in Urbana, IL in May, 1956. He received his B.S. (Highest Honors) in 1977 from UC Berkeley and his Ph.D. from Stanford in 1982 (with Prof. J. P. Collman).  He was a NSF-NATO Postdoctoral Fellow with Prof. J.-M. Lehn at L'Université Louis Pasteur de Strasbourg and a JSPS Visiting Scientist with Prof. Tabushi in Kyoto. He started in 1984 at the University of Texas at Austin, where he is currently the Doherty-Welch Chair Professor. Dr. Sessler has authored or coauthored over 640 research publications, co-authored two books, edited another, and been an inventor of record on 75 issued U.S. Patents  Dr. Sessler is a co-founder of Pharmacyclics, Inc., a publicly traded company before it acquisition in 2015 by AbbVie for $21B. Dr. Sessler has been elected a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, the RSC, and the AAAS; he has received the ACS Cope Scholar Award, RSC Centenary Prize, Izatt-Christensen Award in Macrocyclic Chemistry, the Sidney Pollack Award of Technion University, and the Fischer Award of the Society of Porphyrins and Phthalocyanines.


Headshot of Professor Kenneth SuslickKenneth S. Suslick is the Marvin T. Schmidt Research Professor of Chemistry at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Professor Suslick was born in Chicago in Sept. 1952, received his B.S. from the California Institute of Technology in 1974 and his Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1978 (under Prof. J. P. Collman), and came to the University of Illinois immediately thereafter. He has published more than 400 papers, edited four books, and holds 48 patents and patents pending.  He is the recipient of the Centenary Prize and the Sir George Stokes Medal of the RSC, the MRS Medal, the ACS Nobel Laureate Signature Award for Graduate Education, the ACS Senior Cope Scholar Award, Chemical Pioneer Award of the American Institute of Chemists, the Helmholtz-Rayleigh Silver Medal of the Acoustical Society of America, a Guggenheim Fellowship, an NIH Research Career Development Award, a Sloan Foundation Research Fellowship, and the Silver Medal of the Royal Society for Arts, Manufactures, and Commerce; he is a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, AAAS, ACS, RSC, MRS, APS, and the ASA.    In 2018 – 19, Suslick will be the George Eastman Visiting Professor, University of Oxford, and a Fellow of Balliol College.