#### **DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY**

2022 Convocation





# POWER Innovation ILL World-class Solutions

**Processional** 

Graduates and Faculty

**Opening Remarks** 

Professor Catherine Murphy
Larry R. Faulkner Endowed Chair in Chemistry
Head, Department of Chemistry

**Introduction of Speaker** 

Professor Jonathan Sweedler
James R. Eiszner Endowed Chair in Chemistry
Director, School of Chemical Sciences

Speaker

Dr. Jennifer Holmgren Chief Executive Officer of LanzaTech

**Announcer** 

Professor Josh Vura-Weis

**Presentation of Graduates** 

Professor Matthew Ando Professor Catherine Murphy Professor Jonathan Sweedler

Closing

Professor Catherine Murphy

**Marshals** 

Jordan Axelson
Elise McCarren

To view the live stream, see the QR code on the back of this program.



### Bachelor of Science in Chemistry

Nawal Mohammed Alghoraibi Maya Chattoraj Yu Chen Andrew Gao Feng ❖◆ Omar Joseph Ghaleb Xin Ying Guo Meemie U. Hwang Lindsay Marie Jones Abygail E. Lifschitz Royce Martyka Conrad Benjamin Milton Nurul Husna Mohd Ali Sang Yoon Moon Jose Armando Munoz Muhammad Ridhwan bin Mohd Nasir Ayman Bin Roslend Jungeun Seo Qingzhen Sun Jia Tian Dichen Wang Ryan Atsushi Welch

#### **Bachelor of Science** in Liberal Arts & Sciences

Joshua Abramowicz Angela Marybeth Andrada Fric Thomas Andrus Aadithya Ramana Anumala Alyssa Briana Arce Karen Miae Back Yasir S. Badillo Acosta Sufyan Mirza Baig + Nathan Daryl Bannon Malika Basu + Suraj Bhanot Rushabh Nimesh Bhayani Meghan Elizabeth Burns Karina I. Camarillo Joseph Michael Capozzi 🔺 Celeste F. Carlos Minyang Chai Varsha Kanyadan Chari Jiho Cheon 🔺 Paohsuan Chiu Taehan Choi Robert Kyung-Jin Chun Cameron Michael Conklin Anthony Dowd Evan Lawrence Dray \*\* Brandon Tyler Duffy Bindu Edupulapati 🔺 Helena Faustine

#### Bachelor of Science in Liberal Arts & Sciences

Scott Michael Fawley Cayla B. Freedman Anubhay Ghosh Jacob Norman Gorski Olivia Dawn Grubisich Danielle M. Hailmann 💠 Callista Marie Hall Mathilde M. Hanchard V Connell James Hecht Michelle A. Heinz Adrian Hernandez Kevin Atzel Herrera Jonathan Albert Ho Austin Huang \* Alexis Nicole Isbell Riva Jain Aleksander Stanislaw Jura Saif Uddin Kazi Connor Edward Kettelson Soohvun Kim Sungdae Kim Ye Jin Kim Yi Kyung Kim Connor Brogan Kniaz Dominika Karolina Kolendo 🔺 Nathan Kumar

Hannah Marie Lau

Abdul Afeez Lawal

Hera Lau A

Bladen W. Lee Eunhye Lee Joy Lee Weijiang Li Wai Laam Janice Ling Zoe Mayfung Lo Estelle Mace Aryann Mei Montserrat Lily Melendez Jungyun Moon Luca Nardin Katelynn M Padilla Eleanor So-Yeon Park Reis Kathryn Parkinson Taylor Christine Rahn Rohini Ramabadran Jesse Ramos Yadu Nothan Reddy Edgar Reves Vera Isaac Jacobo Reynoso Albert D. Rios Nathan Christopher Baldwin Roden Ouinn William Ruiz Alexander Thomas Saarinen A Adv Salado Alexander Iman Saloot Sahiti Venkata Sarma Matthew Michael Scotkovsky Kinlung Seetho Manushi Namesh Shah Flizaveta Vladimirovna Shiltseva

Corine Olivia Smith Rachel Lynn Smith Juliette Amanda Speck Nathan Raymond Sprovieri ▼ Matthew Steven Stiegman Dylan Stumbris A Patrick Thomas Sugas Ajay Madhusudan Tatachar Yuang Tian A Xiaolei Tong **Angel Tovar Solis** Patrick Dean True Mattias Paul Vanderwerf Christine Flizabeth Varvitsiotis Alexander Zhengde Wang \* Fengyang Wang Jiaxin Wang A Jacob C. Wolf \*\* **Boping Xia** Pujun Xie 🔺 Suda Xu Dominique Nicole Yap A Huanran Yi Fujia Zhang Qianjiao Zhang Tianzheng Zhang A Zhengvan Zhao Claire Marie Zimmerman

#### Master of Science in Chemistry

Addison Adrian
Ethan James Clements
Kenai James Duran
Neil Thomas Heberer
Gabriela Estefania Ibarra
Cameron Chase Keeton
Kimberly A. Kelly
Adon Kwong
Kevin Manuel Medina Nales
Amanda Anastasia Milkovits
Johnathan Reed Mingione
Xueyong Zhang

#### Master of Science in the Teaching of Chemistry

Jamie Nicole Filicette

#### Doctor of Philosophy in Chemistry

Jazmin Aguilar-Romero Siraj Z. Ali Christopher Daniel Bandas-Rivera David Michael Bianchi Tanner William Bingham Matthew Wesley Boudreau Sean Carney Morgan Marguerite Cencer Peter Chan-Andersen Lindsay Elizabeth Chatkewitz Oleg Davydovich Eduardo Alejandro De La Toba Adam J. Dicaprio Nathan Drew Edmonsond Anne Marie Esposito Kaibo Feng **Emily Jane Geddes** Tvler Nelson Haddock Kendrich Odonaghue Hatfield Kimberly Muno Hilby Christopher Huck Aya Matsunaga Kelly Sarah Bonson Krueger Clare Anastasia Leahy Cindy Jung Lee Melissa Lucero

Kenneth F. Madsen **David Hamilton Mast** Sean Michael Mever Justin C. Miller Shannon Murphy Subhendu Pandit Nicholas William Pino Raundi Evangeline Quevedo Meredith Marquis Rickard Yusef A. Shari'ati Aastha Sharma Allan Eugene Sykes **Yiming Wang** Thao Mee Xiong Tianrui Xue Jiabao Zhang Yuanya Zhao

## Announcements

Please join us immediately following the ceremony in room 314 of the Illini Union.

Appetizers, cake and refreshments will be served.

We invite you to make the most of your Illini Chemist family connections by staying in touch. Please share your (non-illinois.edu) email address here: **go.illinois.edu/ UpdateMyEmail** to receive our e-newsletter and event invitations.

And, of course, you are welcome back to campus any time for a visit.



chemistry.illinois.edu



## **2022 Chemistry Convocation Speaker** Dr. Jennifer Holmgren, CEO of LanzaTech

Under Dr. Holmgren's guidance, LanzaTech is developing a variety of platform chemicals and fuels, including the world's first alternative jet fuel derived from industrial waste gases. She is also the Director and Chair of the LanzaJet Board of Directors. Prior to LanzaTech, Dr. Holmgren was VP and General Manager of the Renewable Energy and Chemicals business unit at UOP LLC, a Honeywell Company. While at UOP, she was a key driver of UOP's leadership in low carbon aviation biofuels.

Dr. Holmgren has authored or co-authored 50 U.S. patents and more than 30 scientific publications and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. She is on the Governing Council for the Bio Energy Research Institute in India. The institute has been set up by the DBT (Department of Biotechnology, Indian Government) and IOC (Indian Oil Corporation). She also sits on the Advisory Council for the Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment at Princeton University, the Halliburton Labs Advisory Board, and the Founder Advisory for The Engine, a venture capital fund built by MIT. Dr. Holmgren has an honorary doctorate from Delft University of Technology.

Dr. Holmgren holds a B.Sc. degree from Harvey Mudd College, a Ph.D. ('86, J. Shapley) from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and an MBA from the University of Chicago.



Please share this link with friends and family to view the live event!