## Chemistry CONVOCATION 2023

**Processional** 

**Opening Remarks** 

**Introduction of Speaker** 

**Speaker** 

**Announcer** 

**Presentation of Graduates** 

**Closing Remarks** 

**Marshals** 

**Faculty and Graduates** 

**Professor Catherine Murphy** 

Larry R. Faulkner Endowed Chair in Chemistry Head, Department of Chemistry

**Professor Martin Gruebele** 

James R. Eiszner Endowed Chair in Chemistry

Dr. Alveda Williams

Chief Inclusion Officer at Dow

Dr. Tepora Su'a

Assistant Director of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in the Chemical Sciences

Professor Catherine Murphy & Professor Scott Silverman

**Professor Catherine Murphy** 

Dr. Tina Huang & Dr. Jordan Axelson



Sunday, May 14, 2023 Tryon Festival Theatre at Krannert Center

Scan this QR code to view a list of graduates.

Scan this QR code to view a livestream of the ceremony.



## 2023 Convocation Speaker: Dr. Alveda Williams Chief Inclusion Officer, Dow



As the Chief Inclusion Officer at Dow, Dr. Alveda Williams is responsible for institutionalizing inclusion, diversity, and equity as key drivers for the company's long-term growth and business success. Previously, Dr. Williams served as Corporate Director of Inclusion and Senior HR Director for Talent Acquisition, where she was responsible for driving and implementing Dow's global ID&E strategy, ensuring fair and equitable end-to-end talent acquisition processes, and embedding inclusion into the overall employee experience for breakthrough results. Dr. Williams joined Dow in 2002 and has held a variety of leadership roles across Research and Development and Human Resources in her 20-year career. Dr. Williams earned a B.S. in chemistry from Norfolk State University and a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She holds three patents and is the author of a number of internal and external publications. She is the recipient of the NSBE Golden Torch Award for Corporate Diversity Leadership (2009), the prestigious Dow Transformation in Action Award (2012), the Council for Chemical Research Diversity Award (2013), Diversity Journal's Women Worth Watching List (2014), and i4CP's Board Member of the Year Award (2021).

