We would like to express our sincere appreciation to the following people:

## The Krannert Center Staff

Melinda Craig Ray Dobson Mike Steiskal

## **Champaign Brass**

Phil Brink - trombone Reed Gallo - trumpet Peggy Hudson (owner) - trombone Barb Ozier - french horn Jerry Shelato - tuba

# **Graphic Services**

Dorothy Loudermilk

## Department of Chemistry Staff

Dot Gordon Erica Johnson Melissa Liepens

# Marshals

Vera Mainz Gretchen Adams

## **Graduate Student Ushers**

Nathan Eddingsaas Meagan Mann Scott Shaw

This program contains an unofficial list of candidates for graduation on May 14, 2006 and a list of graduates who received degrees in August 2005, October 2005, and December 2005. Due to printing deadlines, the names of some degree recipients may not appear, while the name of some degree candidates who have not completed their degree requirements may be included.

# **Department of Chemistry** UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS



# Commencement

Sunday, May 14, 2006 1:30 p.m. Tryon Festival Theatre Krannert Center for the Performing Arts

# PROGRAM

Music	Champaign Brass
Processional	Faculty and Graduates
Welcome	<b>Prof. Steven C. Zimmerman</b> Head, Department of Chemistry
Award Presentation	<ul> <li>Prof. Steven C. Zimmerman</li> <li>John C. Bailar Award</li> <li>John David Barnwell Memorial Award in Chemistry</li> <li>C.S. Marvel Award</li> </ul>
Greetings	<b>Dr. James Kirkpatrick</b> Associate Dean College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Introduction	Prof. Steven C. Zimmerman
Speaker	E. Philip Horwitz, Ph.D.
Presentation of Graduates	Prof. Steven C. Zimmerman Prof. Gregory S. Girolami Prof. Alexander Scheeline
Closing	Prof. Steven C. Zimmerman

Please join us for a reception in the Studio Theatre of the Krannert Center immediately following the ceremony.

# 2006 Chemistry Commencement Speaker E. Philip Horwitz, Ph.D.

Dr. E. Philip Horwitz is a world-renowned expert in the field of Separation Science and Technology. He received his B.S. degree with honors in Chemistry from the University of Cincinnati in 1953, and M.S. (1955) and Ph.D. (1957) degrees in inorganic chemistry from UIUC. He worked for two years at Dow Chemical in Midland, Michigan before beginning a long and successful career at Argonne National Laboratory, reaching the position of Senior Scientist and Section Chief of Heavy Element Research.

At Argonne, Dr. Horwitz carried out basic and applied research in a number of aspects of nuclear technology. He directed the development of high efficiency radiochemical separations, numerous processes and materials for the treatment of radioactive wastes and the processing and handling of high-levels of radioactive materials. One of his most noteworthy collaborative programs (in the 1960's) was involved in the first chemical analysis of the lunar surface. In 1990, he founded Eichrom Technologies, Inc. to manufacture and market separations materials. These materials were developed by Dr. Horwitz and his co-workers to analyze for radioactive constituents in environmental and bioassay samples. These resins are now used by commercial and government analytical laboratories worldwide. In 1998, Dr. Horwitz left Argonne National Laboratory to found PG Research Foundation, Inc., which is involved in nuclear medicine.

Dr. Horwitz has published 173 articles in 39 peer-reviewed journals and has been granted 43 patents. He has received numerous awards throughout his career, including the Glenn T. Seaborg Actinide Separations Award, the University of Chicago Outstanding Performance Award, the American Chemical Society Award in Separation Science and Technology, the UI/LAS "Class of 2000" Alumni Achievement Award, and recently, the Becquerel Medal given by the Royal Society of Chemistry for outstanding contribution to the field of radiochemistry. In addition to the individual awards, Dr. Horwitz and co-workers have received three R&D 100 Awards (1987, 1991, and 1994), which are given annually for the 100 most technologically significant new products of the year. \*Bronze Tablet recipient #Chancellor's Scholar †James Scholar recipient & Phi Beta Kappa ≠ Double Major/Dual Degree

## **Bachelor of Science in Liberal Arts and Sciences**

Elaine Abasolo
Katie E. Abell
Marissa Alcantara
Brittany Joy Allen≠ †
Joshua R. Allen
Rachel Patrice Baker≠
Nisha Bhorania
Brian Lawrence Bish
Robert H. Blackwell
Shannon Noel Box
Gregory Darnell Burks
Jon-Jon Jovero Catayong
Oi Fei Ivy Choi
Marika Čhristie
Allen R. Clark
Matthew Codd
Nicole A. Conatser
Molly Connor
Megan C. Crainet
Gavin Ross Davis
Lauren E. Davis
Kun Doh
Amy C. Downing≠
Heather R. Guth
John C. Hagedorn II≠
Jake Graehm Halvorsen
Chae Young Han≠

Anna Hang# Jennifer L. Harris≠ Samantha Jo Haskins Lexie J. Haughey# ≠ Robert Earl Heitz Nathan P. Hill James F. Hlubocky & Erin Nichole Hobbs Thomas E. Januszyk≠ Zi Yang Jiang≠ David William Kikuchi Jamie S. King Luke Aaron Kinsinger Beth Anne Koszczuk Thomas A. Kosztowski≠ Katherine F. Kuppler Brian Dexter Liem Zouyan Lu Delvia Lukito Tim Mauldin Manish Mehta Jessica Melara Kazuhisa Miyoshi Matthew Munley Ankur Naik Daisuke Naka Muneaki Nakamura\* # †

Ryan Patrick Neris Huy Nguyen Christina Vinodchandra Patel *Iennifer M. Pearson\* # †* Iesus Presiado Darius Radvila Rosemary C. Ray Renee Elizabeth Reilly Peter Chungmin Rhee Brian Adam Rosenblatt Kennv Roman≠ Jeffrey Louis Schiavoni Jason Schmink Nandan Shah≠ Karolina Siczek Mark Andrew Stephens\* † Christopher S. Strouse Melissa Lydia Swee Emily Lauren Sylwestrak# † Eric K Szczesniak# Tyler Tieche Robert B. Trieu Rachael Turner Ronald R. Vanderhyden≠ Derick Wang

## **Bachelor of Science in Chemistry**

- David Sean Beasley Erin M. Broderickt Avram M. Buchbinder Brian Carter Philip Daniel Compton Karen Czerwinski Joshua DiGangi Andrew J. Frierdich Lindsay Ann Green Michael Jan
- Soo Jin Kim Brian Michael Krutsch Seung Joon Lee Yong Long Leung Shilpa Narayan Ariel Marie Neff Erwin Park Brian Timothy Pohrte Jesus Presiado Natalie Rebacz

Frank G. Roberts Christine Schwerdtfeger\* † Jameel Kamil Shihadeh Carl A. Simon Jonell Nicole Smith Akinola Soyode-Johnson Nicholas A. Sterosky Katherine Marie Stoica James Andrew Streeky

Amanda Jean Spinka\* # †

### Bachelor of Science in the Teaching of Chemistry

David Brian Bernthal Eleanore Watt Delahunt Breann Renee Erwin Jillian Nicole Forestiere Gregory Kuzmanich Michelle Marie Lillibridge

## Master of Science in Chemistry

Erin M. Brew Matthew J. Dalton Crystal Goshorn Michael D. Gustavson Crystal Kaye Ingison Eric S. Olson Karina Paprocki Annabeth Ryder Sara Stellfox Elizabeth Dell Trippe Courtney E'Clair Tucker Harold G. Vandeveer Zhe Yin Matthew C. Zwier

### Master of Science in the Teaching of Chemistry

Melissa Auriene James Long Christina Beatty Carrie Erin Owen

# Mindy Waters

R. Michael Roller

#### **Doctor of Philosophy in Chemistry**

Rommie E. Amaro Timothy A. Boebel Christine A. Boyke Patrick J. Castle Soma Chattopadhyay Rebecca L. Coppins Paul W. Dickinson Yi Du Joseph David Eckelbarger David Engebretson David J. Flannigan Shinji Fujimori Kevin M. Gaab Danica Galonic Leslie Mae Hicks Stephen Hopkins Kyle Marran Hurth Hee Jung Hwang Heelung Hwang Farah Jean-Jacques Toublan Michael Ober

Yinghua Iin Christina M. Johnston Jongwon Kim Iohn Samuel Kirk VIII Evangelia Kotsikorou Jesse L. Kuiper Lav Min Lee Sandra Lee Yi-Lun Lin Iian Liu Juewen Liu Nathan Harris Mack Nandita Madhavan Christopher McGinley Shaun M. McLoughlin Chandrasekhar Venkataraman Miduturu Lynne A. Miller Švetlana Mitrovski Justin Montgomery

Ephraim Edward Parent Kyle N. Plunkett Jennifer B. Ponder Jordan R. Ouinn Christian R. Ray Andrea Brown Reynolds Elena Vikentievna Řomanova Ioseph D. Rule John M. Sanders Rachel Hector Sanders Zachary D. Schultz Matthew T. Stone Bridget G. Trogden Jeffrey Turner Timothy Daniel Vaden Julie A. Wieland Todd Williamson Ryan D. Woodyer Wei Zhang Yuxin Zhao

#### **Doctor of Philosophy in Chemical Physics**

Taras V. Pogorelov