We would like to express our sincere appreciation to the following people:

The Krannert Center Staff

Ray Dobson Courtney Egg J. Christopher Lysak Mike Steiskal

Champaign Brass

Lou D'Andria - trumpet Phil Brink - trombone Carol Dobbs - french horn Jerry Shelato - tuba Sid Shuler - trumpet

Graphic Services

Dorothy Loudermilk

Department of Chemistry Staff

Dot Gordon Erica Johnson Melissa Liepins Krista Smith

Marshals

Vera Mainz Gretchen Adams

Graduate Student Ushers

Sergio Sanchez Phillip Volkers

This program contains an unofficial list of candidates for graduation on May 13, 2007 and a list of graduates who received degrees in August 2006, October 2006, and December 2006. Due to printing deadlines, the names of some degree recipients may not appear, while the name of some degree candidates who have not completed their degree requirements may be included.

Department of Chemistry UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS



Commencement

Sunday, May 13, 2007 1:30 p.m. Tryon Festival Theatre Krannert Center for the Performing Arts

PROGRAM

Music Champaign Brass

Processional Faculty and Graduates

Welcome Prof. Steven C. Zimmerman

Head, Department of Chemistry

Award Presentation *Prof. Steven C. Zimmerman*

• John C. Bailar Award

• John David Barnwell Memorial

Award in Chemistry
• C.S. Marvel Award

• Proctor & Gamble Research

Award

Greetings Dr. R. James Kirkpatrick

Associate Dean

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Introduction *Prof. Steven C. Zimmerman*

Speaker *Gregg A. Zank, Ph.D.*

> Prof. Gregory S. Girolami Prof. Alexander Scheeline

Closing *Prof. Steven C. Zimmerman*

Please join us for a reception in the Studio Theatre of the Krannert Center immediately following the ceremony.

2007 Chemistry Commencement Speaker Gregg A. Zank, Ph.D.

Dr. Gregg Zank is Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, and Executive Director of Science and Technology for Dow Corning Corporation. He has brought focus to the innovation in products, processes and technologies for sustained growth of the corporation. Zank developed the organizational strategy for New Ventures, an internal new business and technology incubator for Dow Corning. He directs the ongoing portfolio of activities in this organization, which is challenged with delivering new opportunities every year. Zank has developed and leads the federal business development activity for Dow Corning. He has managed global Research and Development groups with projects spanning three geographical areas (Asia, EU and US) from both a U.S. and Japan base.

In the area of scientific excellence Zank has published more than 30 articles in referred journals, 6 book chapters, over 50 presentations at technical meetings, and 30 U.S. issued patents.

With over 19 years of industrial experience and a strong track record of scientific excellence, Zank is recognized as a thought leader in the scientific community. He is a member of the Industrial Advisory Board, Department of Physics at Cambridge University in the U.K; the Board of Directors for Central Michigan University Research Corporation; the Board of Directors of the Lake Huron Section, Boy Scouts of America; Board of Directors and Vice President for Operations, Michigan Molecular Institute; State of Michigan Industrial Small Technology Advisors assisting in developing high technology with the Michigan Economic Development Corporation; and the Nanotechnology Technical Advisory Group (TAG) of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) under President George W. Bush. Zank actively led the development of our government contract relations activity, involving representation of Dow Corning with different government funding agencies (DARPA, DOE, ARMY, Air Force) as well as congressional lobbying. He is also a frequent invitee at National Research Council (NRC), National Materials Advisory Board and NSF workshops as well as government lab and academic institutions oversight committees. He is a member of the American Chemical Society (ACS), American Academy for the Advancement of Science, reviewer of the National Science Foundation (NSF), Petroleum Research Fund (PRF), Grants and numerous ACS journals, as well as the voting representative for Dow Corning at the Industrial Research Institute (IRI).

Zank completed the Kellogg School of Management Executive Development Program at Northwestern University and earned a Ph.D. in Inorganic Chemistry from the University of Illinois at Urbana and a B.A. in Chemistry from the University of Wisconsin at Superior.

*Bronze Tablet recipient #Chancellor's Scholar †James Scholar recipient & Phi Beta Kappa ≠ Double Major/Dual Degree

Bachelor of Science in Liberal Arts and Sciences

Alicia D. Altheimer Aaron Edward Hart Stephen J. Aupperle Elizabeth Keegan Iinsung Bae Kelly Anne Kohnen Chad A. Barnes Regis B. Komperda Sheri F. Krueger Charles Blatti #†≠ Paul Kuder Daniel Christopher Bloden Sean Brady Peggy Peng Kuo Katherine Frances Kuppler Jessica M. Carroll William T. Kvasnicka †≠ Veronica Cho Larry J. Coers Jennifer Lalinsky Jessie Marie Creamean Bridget K. Larson Christopher Edward Devon E. Curtis Joshua John Dahms Lauschke Sungkun Lee Merrick Jay Donenberg † Terry Lu Uga I. Eneyo Louis Stephen Majerchin Michael Tony Falcinelli Rachel Nduku Masyuko Blake E. Fleeman Patrick R. McLaughlin Iason Frederick Foreman Nicholas H. Mesha Nicholas Charles Glogowski Grant Stephen Godar *Matthew Evan Modes* *†≠ Alka Gupta *† Safi Mohammed Jeffrey S. Gwizdalski Iames M. Nechleba Amanda Jane Harmsen Huy Nguyen Phillip M. O'Connor Kevin Hartman

Dipali Patel Sima Patel Amanda Christina Peoples Rachael F. Pullin Matthew J. Rachwalski Amanda Allison Rakestraw Neil Thomas Reimer †& *Chris Rishel* ≠ Roel Sanchez Candace L. Seipp Anthony Louis Sergenti Matthew O. Siuta Christopher Soppet Heather Stoddard Drew R. Sullivan Philip Jay Torrisi & Jerry Luk Tuazon Rachel Jean Turner † Ioshua Richard Weith Jocelyn Cheri Williams Andrew B. Wu Chuck R. Vrasich †≠ Jacquelyn Zamudio

Bachelor of Science in Chemistry

John D. Atkinson Nathan M. Blair Matthew Chan James J. Daleiden Valerie Fako † Riley Flowers Benjamin J. Kaduk #† Rebecca S. Lahti Tyler Matthews Zaw-Myo-Htet Myasein Joseph Nam Bogdan Negru Erwin Park Matthew Parks Stephanie L. Paugels Mark C. Patsavas Peter-Trung Duc Phan Georgeanna Rechner † Gina M. Sammarco Carl A. Simon Madeline Tsui Phillip Eugene Vaca Neal R. VonDrasek Jane Wang † Jennifer R. Wyss James Richard Young, Jr.

Bachelor of Science in the Teaching of Chemistry

Regis B. Komperda

Master of Science in Chemistry

Qian Chen Brian Kritzberg
Xing Chen Sarah Leonard
Brian Harrison Jeffrey Noga
Christopher Kerwood Richard Pierce

Cameron Spahn Abbigail Zito

Master of Science in the Teaching of Chemistry

Morgan Cline Jordan Fritts Katherine Mills

Doctor of Philosophy in Chemistry

Andrew William Shaw Ramil Baiazitov Do Young Kim Zheng (Richard) Ni Sara Skrabalak Kimberly Rae Deaton Hugo Ong Elizabeth M. Dibbern Steven Tymonko Timothy Alan Richmond Rui Dong Daryl Wernette Stephanie Elmer Mary Šcanlan Xiaoying Ye Emily Schmidt Chen Zhang John Heemstra, Jr. Jeffrey Kallemeyn Anurag Sethi

Doctor of Philosophy in Chemical Physics

Joshua Coe Hyokeun Park