Andy Gewirth selected for ACS Analytical Chemistry Division Award in Electrochemistry


Professor Andy Gewirth, Peter C. and Gretchen Miller Markunas Professor in Analytical Chemistry, has been selected to receive the American Chemical Society Analytical Chemistry Division Award in Electrochemistry, which includes a plaque and $2,500.

Recipients are selected for the award in recognition of their efforts to advance the field of electrochemical analysis in one or more of the following:

  • Conceptualization and development of unique instrumentation that has made a significant impact on the field.

  • Development of novel and important instrumentation.

  • Elucidation of fundamental events or processes important to the field.

  • Authorship of important research papers and/or books that have had an influential role in the development of the field.

Research in the Gewirth group focuses on the structure and reactivity of surfaces and interfaces. Researchers utilize local probe microscopies in conjunction with electrochemical, computational, and spectroscopic methods. Electrochemical use of the Atomic Force Microscope (AFM) was developed in the Gewirth laboratory.