Illinois chemistry students awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Kristin Martin, left, and Jason Wu

Two current Illinois chemistry graduate students have received 2024 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships and seven received honorable mention.

Kristin Martin and Jason Wu are among the thousands of students nationwide to be awarded the prestigious NSF fellowships in the highly competitive program that supports students pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees in science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and social science fields. The graduate students who received Honorable Mentions are Amrinder Bhuller, Rachel Hammond, Imani Jones, Dong Kim, Conrad Milton, Emma Simmons, and Ethan Walker.

Martin is a graduate researcher in the lab of Prof. Joaquín Rodríguez-López where she is working on the development of and surface modification of carbon-based electrodes for inorganic and biological applications.

Q&A with NSF Fellow Kristin Martin

Wu is a first-year graduate student working on the automated synthesis of sequence defined oligomers in the groups of chemistry Prof. Nick Jackson and chemical and biomolecular engineering Prof. Charles Schroeder. The goal of this research is developing novel organic photovoltaic materials for harvesting renewable energy.

Q&A with NSF Fellow Jason Wu