About Sheldon Shore

Sheldon Shore was born on May 8, 1930 in Chicago, Illinois. He received his BS from the University of Illinois Department of Chemistry in 1951, and MS and PhD from the University of Michigan in 1953 and 1957. He joined the faculty of The Ohio State University in 1957 as an assistant professor and was promoted to professor in 1966.

He served on the Editorial Board of Inorganic Chemistry and Organometallics. He was on the Advisory Board of the Petroleum Research Fund and the National Research Council Committee on Recommendations for U. S. Army Basic Scientific Research. He also served on the National Institute of Health Study Section, 1985; the National Science Foundation Oversight Committee, 1986; and the National Science Foundation Panel for the evaluation of Career Grant Proposals, 2002. He served as Chairman of the Organizing Committee of Boron Americas and was a member of the International Organizing Committee of IME Boron.

Dr. Shore has received numerous honors and recognitions, including: NSF Award for Creativity, 1982-84; Morley Award for Outstanding Contributions to Chemistry, Cleveland Section American Chemical Society, 1989; Charles H. Kimberly Chair of Chemistry, The Ohio State University, 1992; Elected to the Bavarian Academy of Science, Corresponding Member, 1996; and American Chemical Society Award in Inorganic Chemistry 2007.

He has authored more than 300 papers, received 14 patents, and taught numerous students, 91 of whom received their MS or PhD with him.

Dr. Shore passed away on April 4, 2014.