Denmark, Makri selected winners of ACS National Awards


Two faculty members and an alumnus from the Department of Chemistry have been selected winners of 2023 American Chemical Society National Awards.

Scott E. Denmark, Reynold C. Fuson Professor of Chemistry, has won the Arthur C. Cope Award. He is the first UIUC faculty member to win this award, which is sponsored by the Arthur C. Cope Fund and recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of organic chemistry. The award, which has been administered by the ACS Board of Directors since 1972, consists of $25,000, a medallion, and a $150,000 unrestricted research grant.

Nancy Makri, Edward William and Jane Marr Gutgsell Chair, and Professor of Chemistry, has won the ACS Award in Theoretical Chemistry. Sponsored by the ACS Division of Physical Chemistry, the award recognizes innovative research in theoretical chemistry that either advances theoretical methodology or contributes to new discoveries about chemical systems. The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate.

Alumnus Mark W. Grinstaff (PhD, '92, Suslick) of Boston University has won the ACS Award in Applied Polymer Science. Sponsored by the Eastman Chemical Company, the award recognizes and encourages outstanding achievements in the science or technology of plastics, coatings, polymer composites, adhesives, and related fields. The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate.

The ACS National Award winners will be honored at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 28, 2023, in conjunction with the ACS Spring 2023 meeting in Indianapolis.

Related People