Diversity Awards

Here is the place to find out more about the Women in Chemistry Inclusive Leadership (WICIL) Award, below, and a variety of awards on campus whose information will be coming soon .


Women in Chemistry Inclusive Leadership (WICIL) Award

To recognize the community members that are models of Inclusive Excellence, the Department of Chemistry Office of Graduate Diversity and Program Climate in 2019 established the Illinois Women in Chemistry Inclusive Leadership Award. The award is conferred to two outstanding Department of Chemistry female graduate student or postdoc each year that has demonstrated a commitment to promoting full and equal participation of women, people of color, persons with disabilities, persons of differing sexual orientations and gender identities in research and teaching.

Award Details

The recipient receives an engraved award, presented at the Annual Women in Chemistry Retreat held in August of every year, recognition on the chemistry website, and up to $1000 dispersed through the student's university account. Funds can be used to participate in conferences, procuring research materials, supplies, and books, and receive additional certifications, among other professional development activities.

The runner up awardee receives up to $500 sponsored by the Women Chemistry Committee disbursed similarly to the WIC Inclusive Leadership Award. 


The nominations are due the last Friday in July of every year.

Selection Process

Awardees are selected each year by an ad hoc committee of diversity, equity and inclusion professionals, and faculty across the University, external to the department of chemistry.

Once the winner is chosen, the nominees and nominators will be notified. If not selected for the first year, nominations will be considered for the following year.

Past Recipients


Head shot of Lauren Hagler

Lauren Hagler (Zimmerman's group)
Recipient of the first annual Women in Chemistry Inclusive Leadership Award.

Read the news story – Inaugural Women in Chemistry Inclusive Leadership Award recognizes leaders in inclusive excellence





Head shot of Alison Wallum
Head shot of Hannah Toru

Alison Wallum (joint in Gruebele, chemistry and Lyding, electrical and computer engineering groups)
2020 WIC Inclusive Leadership Award

Hannah Toru (Johnson group, geochemistry)
2020 WIC Inclusive Leadership Award – Runner up


Read the news story that features both 2020 winners – Alison Wallum wins 2020 Women in Chemistry Inclusive Leadership Award