Faculty Research Presentations

Fall 2021

Each fall, many faculty organize research presentations for interested students; below is a list of scheduled faculty presentations specifically geared towards first year students. Other faculty have specifically requested to meet individually with prospective students. These lists will be updated as we receive information about these events from faculty, but please do not consider either to be an exhaustive list of faculty taking students into their group. At any time, you are also welcome to contact individual faculty members to request a meeting or more information about their groups.

All Students are required to attend this presentation:

Tuesday, August 31, 7:00 – 8:30 pm, 1024 Chemistry Annex, "The Process of Joining a Research Group" Seminar
Professor Gregory S. Girolami, Director of Graduate Studies and Professor Wilfred van der Donk

List of presentations:

For more information on an individual faculty member, click on their last name to visit their faculty page. A full list of faculty can be found by clicking on "People" in the top navigation of this page, and then "Directory" which will have you landing on our Faculty page. From there you may choose "Faculty by Research Area" as well.

 

Wednesday, September 1st

Assoc. Professor Joaquín Rodríguez-López
4:00 PM
Zoom - https://illinois.zoom.us/my/jrlzoom?pwd=TE9aSmhoanJZc0Q2TW0vWVdabk1pUT09

Will also meet individually, please email him at joaquinr@illinois.edu to schedule.


Thursday, September 2nd

Assoc. Professor Alison Fout
4:00 PM
353 Noyes Lab (NL)

Will also meet individually, please email her at fout@illinois.edu to schedule.
 

Friday, September 3rd

Assoc. Professor Damien Guironnet
4:00 PM
157 Noyes Lab (NL)

Will also meet individually, virtually, please email him at guironne@illinois.edu to schedule.
 

Monday, September 6th

Asst. Professor Jefferson Chan
7:00 PM
116 Roger Adams Lab (RAL)


Tuesday, September 7th

Asst. Professor Hee-Sun Han
6:00 PM
161 Noyes Lab (NL)

Will also meet individually, please email her at hshan@illinois.edu to schedule.

Professor So Hirata
6:00 PM
Zoom - https://illinois.zoom.us/j/7077067856?pwd=T0Y5SCtYY0EvNm9pN01oNmxCMGcyUT09

Will also meet individually, virtually, please email him at sohirata@illinois.edu to schedule.

Professor Wilfred van der Donk
7:00 PM
161 Noyes Lab (NL) and Zoom - https://illinois.zoom.us/j/88432016952?pwd=d2diSHJTOVZrbkYwZEV1NEZnT0xCZz09
Meeting ID: 884 3201 6952
Password: 638867

Will also meet individually after the seminar.


Wednesday, September 8th

Professor Paul Hergenrother
8:00 PM
165 Noyes Lab (NL)

Will also meet individually, please email him at hergenro@illinois.edu to schedule.


Thursday, September 9th

Professor Liviu Mirica
4:00 PM
116 Roger Adams Lab (RAL)

Will also meet individually, please email him at mirica@illinois.edu to schedule.

Asst. Professor Angad Mehta
6:00 PM
116 Roger Adams Lab (RAL)

Will also meet individually, please email him at apm8@illinois.edu to schedule.

Professor Catherine Murphy
7:00 PM
Zoom - https://illinois.zoom.us/j/83791857643?pwd=MmM5d3lCcHROSlhEZjZwa3VqQU42dz09

Will also meet individually, please email her at murphycj@illinois.edu to schedule.


Friday, September 10th

Asst. Professor Lisa Olshansky
4:00 PM
171 Roger Adams Lab (RAL)

Will also meet individually, please email her at lolshans@illinois.edu to schedule.

Asst. Professor Nicholas Jackson
5:00 PM
Zoom - https://illinois.zoom.us/j/88933969573?pwd=NU41L1ZTbVBmTXVHSW9Ob3AvR3k4dz09

Will also meet individually, please email him at jacksonn@illinois.edu to schedule.


Monday, September 13th

Professor Martin Burke
5:00 PM
116 Roger Adams Lab (RAL)

Will also meet individually, please email him at mdburke@illinois.edu to schedule.

Professor Douglas Mitchell
6:00 PM
116 Roger Adams Lab (RAL)
Will also meet individually, please email him at douglasm@illinois.edu to schedule.


Tuesday, September 14th

Professor Jonathan Sweedler
5:00 PM
1025 Chemistry Annex (CA)

Will also meet individually, please email him at jsweedle@illinois.edu to schedule.

Professor Nancy Makri
5:30 PM
Zoom - https://illinois.zoom.us/j/87055576773?pwd=WkVnekQvZVFRMUV4Wng3cGt1TFVUQT09

Will also meet individually, please email her at nmakri@illinois.edu to schedule.

Professor Gregory Girolami
6:00 PM
163 Noyes Lab (NL)
Will also meet individually, please email him at ggirolam@illinois.edu to schedule.

Asst. Professor David Sarlah
6:00 PM
161 Noyes Lab (NL)
Will also meet individually, please email him at sarlah@illinois.edu to schedule.


Thursday, September 16th

Asst. Professor Mikael Backlund
6:00 PM
Room TBD

Will also meet individually, please email him at mikaelb@illinois.edu to schedule.

Professor M. Christina White
6:00 PM
116 Roger Adams Lab (RAL)

Will also meet individually, please email her at mcwhite7@illinois.edu to schedule.


Thursday, September 23rd

Professor Scott Denmark
6:00 PM
116 Roger Adams Lab (RAL)

Will also meet individually, please email him at sdenmark@illinois.edu to schedule.
 

The following faculty members will not be giving presentations but will be meeting individually either in person or via Zoom. Please email them to make arrangements.


Professor Andrew Gewirth
agewirth@illinois.edu

Professor Martin Gruebele
mgruebel@illinois.edu

Professor Prashant Jain
jain@illinois.edu

Asst. Professor Mei Shen
mshen233@illinois.edu

Professor Scott Silverman
sks@illinois.edu